“Our social tools are not an improvement to modern society, they are a challenge to it.” ― Clay Shirky

June 7, 2014 § Leave a comment

Following my previous blog I have been doing a lot of contemplation on the use of technology and social media recently. Mainly because of my breakup but also on how I use it my everyday life and when I hang out with people.

I realised that I was living my life through a screen instead of looking up at those around me. I would be on my phone in the company of others, I would be uploading photos and statuses every time I did something, scrawling through the news feed constantly for updates any spare moment. This isn’t living. I don’t need to make a status to tell my friends I’ve had a good night at the pub, we should just all have a good time and knowledge it in the moment.

I know technology and social media has its benefits and I have never been against change and advances but I think it’s too easy to allow it to take control and dictate how you live your life. So I have taken a step back from it all and done the following:

  • I try not to check my phone every second
  • I put my phone away in the company of others or at an event
  • I don’t update my ‘friends’ on everything I do, instead I select big events that mean a lot or just share funny things
  • I try to not scroll through my news feeds constantly and stalk exs (working on that one)
  • Try not to read into every like, comment and activity people do (working on this one too)
  • I don’t reach for my laptop automatically when I’m bored or have free time

Here are some articles which highlight and express what I am feeling right now a bit more in detail.

What facebook is doing to your brain

18 Ugly truths about modern dating you have to deal with

http://justfranki.wordpress.com/2014/06/05/how-social-media-will-ruin-your-relationship/

How social media networks can affect society negatively

Facebook, Twitter, Texting: The Impact of Social Networking

The real reason facebook makes us unhappy

No one talks anymore

I know this video is a little extreme but Buzzfeed makes a point:

How does technology and social media dictate your life?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Our social tools are not an improvement to modern society, they are a challenge to it.” ― Clay Shirky at Average Jo.

meta